Energy Transition Award 2023: EUPD Research Awards the Best Energy Suppliers in the DACH Region

Press Release – Friday, June 16, 2023

As part of the Energy Transition Award, EUPD Research has analyzed 1,600 energy suppliers in the DACH region (Germany, Austria and Switzerland) every year since 2016. At Europe's largest energy industry platform The smarter E Europe in Munich yesterday, the best energy suppliers were honored with the Energy Transition Award 2023 for their outstanding range of products and services related to the energy transition for the seventh time.

Bonn/Munich, 16.06.2023. The sharp rise in energy prices has posed significant challenges for energy supply in the past and current year. This development has led to a pronounced rethinking of energy supply for end customers, particularly in the areas of heat supply, sustainable mobility, and renewable electricity generation. As intermediaries between the manufacturers of various renewable technologies and energy consumers, energy suppliers play a key role in the implementation of energy transition.

The Energy Transition Award is a reflection of society and shows that every company – from the local municipal utility to the international energy group – can and must make its contribution to the energy transition. The energy transition in the four segments of electricity, heating, mobility and energy efficiency is as complex as the activities of the energy suppliers in the DACH region are diverse. In the electricity sector, a growing number of energy suppliers are offering classic products such as green electricity tariffs, photovoltaic systems and storage systems. With the continued strong growth of the electric mobility market, energy suppliers are becoming increasingly involved in this segment offering, for example, electricity tariffs for charging at home or at public charging stations as well as charging stations for private or commercial use or as part of the public infrastructure. Although the heating sector is still technologically dominated by conventional heating systems, energy suppliers increasingly include renewable heating systems such as heat pumps or solar thermal in their portfolios. In addition, energy suppliers are expanding services relating to heat generation and are helping customers avoid heat loss. A wide range of consulting services in the field of energy efficiency completes the portfolios of numerous energy suppliers.

For the seventh time, the most innovative energy suppliers in the DACH region were honored with the Energiewende Award (Energy Transition Award) in the categories of electricity, heat, mobility, energy efficiency and energy transition (overall) as part of the innovation platform "The smarter E Europe" on June 15, 2023. The initiators of the Energiewende Award The smarter E Europe, Europe's largest energy industry platform, the DCTI German CleanTech Institute, and EUPD Research are pleased to present the winners of the "Energiewende Award" for energy suppliers in Germany, Austria and Switzerland in 2023:

The German winners of this year's Energy Transition Award

Austria's winners of this year's Energy Transition Award

The Swiss winners of this year's Energy Transition Award

“Our aim with the Energy Transition Award is to make visible and reward the commitment of energy suppliers in their efforts to achieve more climate protection. I am glad that we were able to redesign the award ceremony with a dynamic concept this year and thus learned more about the solution strategies of the energy suppliers. I congratulate all of this year’s award winners and thank the initiators and supporters,” comments Markus A.W. Hoehner, founder and managing director of EUPD Research.

For more information about the award ceremony and the Energy Transition Award, please visit our website:

If you have any questions, please contact Saif Islam, Senior Consultant at EUPD Research at +49 (0) 228 504 36-20 or .

You are using an outdated browser

The website cannot be viewed in this browser. Please open the website in an up-to-date browser such as Edge, Chrome, Firefox, or Safari.